QEB enter Durand semifinal
posted on 14.08.2019

Quess East Bengal defeated Bengaluru FC by 2-1 in the Group A match of Durand Cup to enter the semifinals.

In the first half the red & golds were not composing well in the midfield and the Bengaluru boys took control of the game.

In the 17th minute, Bengaluru were up by a stunning goal. Leon Augustine makes a dizzying run down the right and releases Edmund Lalrindika on goal. He beats the 'keeper but his shot strikes the crossbar. Ajay Chhetri latches onto the rebound and slots it home with ease to make it 1-0.

Bengaluru played with perfection and hold on to the lead and the match went into the lemon break with 1-0 scoreline.

Coach Alejandro replaced Boithang with Bidyasagar at the start of second half. Bidyasagar makes his intentions clear within a minute of coming on as he nearly finds the equaliser with a cracker of a shot. The Bengaluru 'keeper manages to keep it out, but not in very convincing fashion.

In the 59th minute, Bidyasagar strikes a superb half volley to bring East Bengal back into the match. The goal brought the stadium to life!

East Bengal then piled on more pressure on Bengaluru and in the 74th minute Bidyasagar made a surging run from midfield, dodged past two defenders, and saw himself in a 1v1 situation with the 'keeper. He coolly placed the ball into the right bottom corner to hand East Bengal the lead with little over fifteen minutes to go.

The match ended with 2-1 score in favour of the red & golds. With the result, East Bengal remains unbeaten, and stays on top of Group A with nine points from three matches and stormed into the semifinals of Durand Cup.

QEB : Lalthuanmawia Ralte, Kamalpreet (Samad Ali Mallick), Asheer Akhtar, Borja Gomez, Abhishek Ambekar, Boithang Haokip (Bidyasagar Singh), Kassim Aidara, Lalrindika Ralte (Tondomba Naorem Singh), Pintu Mahata, Brandon Vanlalremdika, Jaime Colado Santos
EB shower love on Majid Beshkar
posted on 13.08.2019

The prime attraction of the evening remained Iranian star Majid Beshkar, who was crowned the club's best foreign player of all time.

Present along with the enigmatic Iranian playmaker was his compatriot Jamshed Nassiri. When Majid was asked to felicitate Jamshed, it brought back memories of the many triumphs the two had engineered for the side in the early part of the '80s.
EB honor former coaches & captains
posted on 13.08.2019

East Bengal Club made its ongoing centenary celebrations memorable by bringing together the living coaches & captains in a colourful function held at the Netaji Indoor Stadium today. Thousands of fans across generations gathered to witness the unique occasion that presented a virtual football hall of fame.

From stalwarts of the 1960s and '70s like Sukumar Samajpati, Parimal Dey, Sudhir Karmakar, Samaresh Chowdhury, Surjoit Sengupta, Victor Amalraj, Manoranjan Bhattacharya and Bhaskar Ganguly to the stars of the new millennium like Suley Musah, M. Suresh, Alvito D’Cunha, Chandan Das and Gurwinder Singh, the evening presented a collage of resplendent memories to its supporters.

Coaches Armando Colaco, Ranjan Chowdhury, Subhas Bhowmick, Shyam Thapa, Syed Nayeemuddin along with other coaches were also felicitated.
Nostalgic evening on Sports Day
posted on 13.08.2019

All those who led East Bengal and guided the club through thick and thin over the years took centrestage as East Bengal felicitated their former coaches & captains on Tuesday as part of the club’s centenary celebrations.

The Club also released a centenary theme song sung by noted singer Arijit Singh. A commemorative Centenary volume Football Almanac was also released on this occasion.

Three non-football personalities — noted film-maker Tarun Majumdar, famous writer Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay and celebrated theatre personality Rudra Prasad Sengupta — were honored by the club with life membership. The Club also felicitated the families of three of the famous ‘Pancha Pandavs’. Abdul Majid Khan and Venkatesh Srinivas, sons of Ahmed Khan and P Venkatesh, respectively, as well as the wife of PB Saleh were honored amidst a standing ovation.

The day — celebrated as the club’s sports day in memory of former secretary Dipak Das.

Noted singers Nachiketa Chakraborty & Imon Chakraborty also performed at this event.

Page No. < 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 Next>>